About Us

Elemental: Covering Sustainability is a multimedia collaboration between public radio and public television stations in Colorado, Arizona and California.

Our partners include KPCC (Southern California Public Radio) and PBS SoCal in Los Angeles, Rocky Mountain PBS in Denver, and Cronkite News/Arizona PBS and KJZZ in Phoenix.

We cover urbanization, climate change, water and renewable energy. Our mission is to create original content about the world we live in and what the future might hold.

We are supported through a grant from the Corporation for Public Broadcasting.


Melanie Asp Alvarez, Executive Editor, Elemental: Covering Sustainability

Christopher Callahan, Dean, Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication; CEO, Arizona PBS

Allysa Adams, Executive Producer of News & Public Affairs, Arizona PBS

Sadie Babits, Sustainability Content Director, Cronkite News

Andrew Russell, President & CEO, PBS SoCal

Juan Devis, Chief Creative Officer, KCETLink Public Media, PBS SoCal

Laura Frank, Vice President of News, Rocky Mountain PBS

Megan Garvey, Managing Editor, KPCC (Southern California Public Radio)

Suzanne Levy, Environment & Science Editor, KPCC (Southern California Public Radio)

Al Macias, News Director, KJZZ


Emily Guerin, Environment reporter, KPCC, LAist
Jacob Margolis, Science reporter, KPCC
Sharon McNary, Infrastructure correspondent, KPCC , LAist
Bret Jaspers, senior field correspondent, KJZZ
Casey Kuhn, senior field correspondent, KJZZ
Mariana Dale senior field correspondent, KJZZ
Will Stone, senior field correspondent, KJZZ
Heather Van Blokland, host, KJZZ
Luke Runyon, Colorado River correspondent, KUNC
Grace Hood, Energy and Environment Reporter, Colorado Public Radio
Daniel Rothberg, Nevada Independent
Felicity Barringer, Bill Lane Center for the American West, Stanford University
Frani Halperin, Executive Producer, H2ORadio.org

Content for Cronkite News, the news division of Arizona PBS, is produced by students of the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Arizona State University.